• 631.753.6725 info@msblnational.com Search MSBL/MABL

    Find a League In Your Area

    Enter Your Zip Code
    Choose Your State  
  • Bookmark and Share

  • Bookmark and Share
  • Steelhead Tavern Wins July 4th Tourney in Milwaukee

    Front Row: Jamie Sensabaugh, Chuck Douthit, Rich Capparelli, Jimmy Hazlett, Rick Acker, Brad Holstad. Back Row: Mike Jordon, Joe Capparelli, John Haney, Steve Coon, Russ Bortell, John Kinnane, Kevin Corcoran. Missing: Matt Lockwood

    By Steve LaMontia, Director of Communications

    Many areas of the MSBL nation have been relentlessly pounded by snow, cold temperatures and basic nasty weather. The good news is that spring training is upon us and the MLB Network has been keeping us warm and fuzzy with their continual reports from Arizona and Florida. In the spirit of all of the MSBL members shaking off the cobwebs and dreaming of hot summer afternoons on the diamond, I pulled out a tournament champion story from a July 4th tournament played in Milwaukee at the Rock Complex.This story has been sitting in the pending file and what better time to pull it out? Dream on, everyone, and I hope this little glimpse of championship baseball in the hot sun in the midwest gets you dreaming of breaking sliders and hitting in the gap!

    Originally submitted by John Haney, Steelhead Tavern manager

    2013 MSBL World Series Champion Steelhead Tavern (45+ American) won the 45-over division of the 2014 Milwaukee Summerfest Slam Tournament at the Rock Complex over the Independence Day Weekend this past summer. Steelhead Tavern was 4-0 in the tournament and beat the Chicago Giants 8-0 in the Championship game. Along the way, the Steelheads beat a MSBL World Series Champion in the Chicago North Cubs.

    While the pitching staff allowed five runs in 36 innings, issuing only three free passes the entire tournament, the lineup pounded out 88 hits, including 21 doubles, three triples and seven home runs (.461 average and .712 slugging ). The Milwaukee Rock Complex is a beautiful facility near Milwaukee with four turf fields.

    "The tournament championship was a total team effort with standout pitching and hitting performances by every member of the 14 man roster," said Haney. "It was good to get the team together for a tournament before heading back out west to the World Series in November.”

    Editor’s note: Steelhead Tavern did indeed make it back to the 2014 Championship game in Phoenix at the MSBL World Series. Steelhead Tavern, undefeated at 6-0-1 going into the final was unable to repeat. The OC Sox, after losing two games in a row to The Tavern, 14-4 in 2013 pool play and 8-3 in 2014 pool play, found the third game to be the charm as they went on to defeat Steelhead 13-4 in the championship game.

  • Comment on "Steelhead Tavern Wins July 4th Tourney in Milwaukee"
    Email Address:
    Solve This Problem: = What's This?
  • Comments on "Steelhead Tavern Wins July 4th Tourney in Milwaukee" Comments on "Steelhead Tavern Wins July 4th Tourney in Milwaukee" RSS Feed
    No comments to display
powered by Essent® • SiteBuilder Pro